Skip to main content

The South East Stars have named their squad for the upcoming Charlotte Edwards Cup, which starts on Saturday 14 May.

The Stars are the reigning champions in the T20 competition, having secured the inaugural victory by beating Northern Diamonds by five wickets in the final.

The 20 player squad features 11 Surrey players including captain Bryony Smith, Sophia Dunkley and the exciting Alice Capsey. England contracted players Freya Davies (Sussex) and Tash Farrant (Kent) as well Surrey Women’s captain Aylish Cranstone will no doubt play key roles for the team throughout the season as they aim to retain the trophy.

In last year’s competition, the Stars won six of the seven games on the way to victory and will be the team to beat this year. Capsey (203 runs) and Smith (162 runs) were among the leading run-scorers in the competition last year, and Smith’s 14 wickets at an average of just 9.8 runs saw her top the wicket-takers for the tournament.

The Stars first game will be against the Sunrisers on Saturday (14 May) at the Cloud County Ground, Chelmsford. The match starts at 2.30PM and tickets are available on the Essex Cricket website.

Full Squad

  • Bryony Smith (Surrey)
  • Chloe Brewer (Surrey)
  • Alice Capsey (Surrey)
  • Kira Chathli (Surrey)
  • Claudie Cooper (Surrey)
  • Aylish Cranstone (Surrey)
  • Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent)
  • Freya Davies (Sussex)
  • Sophia Dunkley (Surrey)
  • Tash Farrant (Kent)
  • Phoebe Franklin (Kent)
  • Grace Gibbs (Kent)
  • Eva Gray (Surrey)
  • Dani Gregory (Surrey)
  • Emma Jones (Essex)
  • Ryana Macdonald-Gay (Kent)
  • Kalea Moore (Kent)
  • Rhianna Southby (Surrey)
  • Alexa Stonehouse (Kent)
  • Kirstie White (Surrey)